What To Read If You Love Colleen Hoover Books

Colleen Hoover books seem to be everywhere these days. She’s the romance author of the moment. Wherever you look for book recommendations, you’re bound to run into at least one of her books. The book-loving communities on TikTok and youtube can’t stop talking about Colleen Hoover’s books. 

She may be in everyone’s mind these days, but she’s no newbie to writing addicting stories. She’s been a renowned author for a long time. Her first book came out in 2012, and many of her books have been on the New York Times bestsellers list. 

Colleen Hoover has been loved for a while

But, it seems like a new generation of readers is discovering her now. 

Her books have a kind of timeless quality to them. The desire for passionate love stories is always there, no matter which generation you’re a part of. 

What makes her books stand out amongst the thousands of romance books is that romance isn’t all there is to them. All her books have romance at their core, but they have other elements that stand out. 

The characters in Colleen Hoover are usually well-written complex people that feel real. Most of them are going through things other than their romantic drama. They have struggles and life of the romantic relationship. Plus, the relationships are affected by those struggles which feel realistic. 

Yes, she writes romance, but she goes deeper than that. They’re not the easy fluffy romance you can finish in one sitting and never think about again. She has mastered the perfect mixture of fun and heartwrenching drama. I think that is what has made her so special to her readers and so popular. 

Read more

If You Love Colleen Hoover Books, Read These

Wait For You by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Avery is trying to let go of her troubled past. She moves thousands of miles away for college in search of a fresh start. Her goals are to not draw too much attention to herself and maybe make some new friends. 

But plans don’t always go our way. When she meets Cameron, a beautiful boy that seems to be everywhere, her plans go array. He reminds her of what she left behind, of the things she thought she could never get back. However, he also gives her hope for her future, and she can’t seem to stay away from him. Cameron is a peek into her possible future, but her past doesn’t want to let her get away. 

The idea that a character’s past keeps them from their present screams Colleen Hoover Books to me. It reminds me of Ugly Love specifically.

The Things We Leave Unfinished by Rebecca Yarros

This book is perfect if you love passionate slow-burn love stories. It also has the upside of giving you not one but TWO romantic stories to follow. The book goes back and forth between two timelines. Our main character and her great-grandmother’s story. 

Georgia Stanton recently had a messy divorce with her famous movie director ex. She’s filled with grief for her marriage, her old life, and the loss of her great-grandmother. Georgia was raised by her great-grandmother and renowned romance novelist, Scarlett Stanton. When she died, Georgia inherited everything. From her house to the rights for her novels, including her last unfinished one.

When they need the perfect writer to finish Scarlett’s novel, Noah Harrison comes in. Noah is the golden boy of modern fiction. He’s acclaimed for his gritty and intense stories. Everyone seems to love him, except Georgia Stanton. As Noah writes Scarlett’s book, he and Georgia develop an unexpected relationship. Meanwhile, you go to World War II, when Scarlett Stanton fell in love with a pilot. 

This book can feel like an emotional rollercoaster, but it’s worth it. The changing of timelines makes for a gripping story you won’t be able to put down. You’ll fall in love with the characters and their relationships with each other. The relationships feel real and fleshed out. 

I also liked the exploration of family dynamics. You get a few family relationships represented that are very different from each other.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

When Taylor’s dad gets a terrible diagnosis, her family decides to spend one last summer at their old lake house. She wants to make her dad happy, but that lake house brings back bad old memories. The last time she was there she swore to never go back.

Back at their lake house are her former best friend Lucy and Henry Crosby, her childhood crush. The last thing she wants is to be around them, but she can’t run away, not this time. As Taylor is forced to confront her past, she wonders if maybe this is the second chance she hoped for all along.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

Another Sarah Dessen book on this list. She was THE contemporary romance writer before Colleen Hoover came along. So, it’s only fitting to include 2 of her books.

When her boyfriend goes to Brain Camp for the summer, Macy thinks her summer is bound to be dull. Her days will be spent studying, working at the library, and dealing with the loss of her father. 

But life can be unexpected sometimes. Macy gets a job at a catering company whose crew is as fun as they are chaotic. Her summer changes for the better when she makes friends with her coworkers, including the intriguing Wes.

CONCLUSION

There you have it! If you can’t get enough of Colleen Hoover books, here are some that have a similar vibe to hers. There are only so many Colleen Hoover books. You can only reread them so many times before craving something new. 

These books will obviously have a different writing style than Colleen Hoover’s books. We chose them because they feel like the same type of book as Colleen Hoover books. Every author is unique in their own way, so they won’t be the exact same as her books. But we think they’ll fill a similar void and desire that Colleen Hoover books do. 

BEFORE YOU GO

We have a ton of book recommendations for different moods, check them out! It would be great to hear from you as well. Which books remind YOU of Colleen Hoover? Leave us a comment below.

Pin it to read later!

Liked what you read? Share with a friend:

Leave a Reply